Add ability to have "groups" for programs

Any suggestions and ideas are very welcome.

Add ability to have "groups" for programs

Postby hstraf » Sun Jun 03, 2007 9:29 am

In the Kiosk Settings area, it is possible to add a list of programs that the customer can choose to run.

It would be nice to be able to "group" the programs somehow.

For example:

------------------------------
GAMES
- program1
- program2

CHAT
- program 1
- program 2

INTERNET BROWSE
- program 1
- program 2
------------------------------

The idea is that customer can more easily see the options to select.

Thanks!
hstraf
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2007 12:16 am

Postby Administrator » Sun Jun 03, 2007 5:45 pm

It is great idea, the group feature may be add in future version (may be version 5.0, too much works)
currently you can use extra prefix in the program name
for example
GAMES- program1
GAMES- program2
CHAT-program1
CHAT-program2
INTERNET BROWSE -program 1
INTERNET BROWSE -program 2
Thanks
Administrator
 
Posts: 386
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 1:38 am

Postby hstraf » Mon Jun 04, 2007 8:28 am

Good idea. Is it possible to "re-order" the programs that are listed?

ie:

"Move up" Move down, etc..

So that we do not have to re-type everything over if we add a new game and want all the games to be together in the list.
hstraf
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2007 12:16 am

Postby Administrator » Mon Jun 04, 2007 12:04 pm

We will keep the "re-order" in mind when we add the new features.
Thanks
Administrator
 
Posts: 386
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 1:38 am

Postby hstraf » Tue Jun 05, 2007 11:18 am

Hello,

Perhaps for now (in next release) it might be an idea to give us the ability to add a "seperator" line in the program menu options.

So we could choose to "add" the seperator line, and kiosk will automatically place the "------------------------------" line or something.

This way, we can easily seperate the programs by using a seperator.

ie:

Program1
Program2
------------------------------ <-- Add this "seperator" line.Program3
Program4

What do you think?

It would also be nice to have the ability to add just TEXT to the program listing. Currently, we can't click the "Add" button unless there is a file path with the text. But if we can add just the text, then we could do something like this easily:

CHAT <-- Text only
Program1
Program2
------------------------------ <-- Add this "seperator" line.
GRAPHICS <-- Text only
Program3
Program4

I hope that makes sense.
hstraf
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2007 12:16 am

Postby Administrator » Tue Jun 05, 2007 12:28 pm

The Separator line is good idea,
We will add it on next release.
thanks
Administrator
 
Posts: 386
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 1:38 am

agree!

Postby fade » Thu Nov 29, 2007 8:55 am

I also agree with all that has been sayd, but another solution for me would be:

- Hide bars from kiosk timer bar (opcional)
- Keep shortcuts in desktop (add some way to clients have no abillity to change their position on it)

Thank you!

Great job!
fade
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2007 3:26 pm
Location: PT

Postby Administrator » Thu Nov 29, 2007 5:54 pm

Thanks for you suggestion,
Can you explain more about what is "Hide bars from kiosk timer bar"?

you can disable the shortcuts context menu by following steps. We will add
this in the future version.



Desktop Context Menu

By default, when a user right clicks on the desktop in Windows XP a context menu is displayed. Implementing the Enable/Disable Desktop Context Menu edit will remove the ability to display a context menu by right clicking the desktop, items on the desktop, and items in Windows Explorer. It does not disable context menus in Internet Explorer. This registry edit can be set either on a user or machine basis.

To Enable/Disable for Current User

[Start] [Run] [Regedit]
Registry Key: HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\Explorer
Modify/Create the Value Data Type(s) and Value Name(s) as detailed below.
Data Type: DWORD // Value Name: NoViewContextMenu
Setting for Value Data: [0 = Disabled / 1 = Enabled]
Exit Registry and Reboot

To Enable/Disable for Local Machine

[Start] [Run] [Regedit]
Registry Key: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\policies\Explorer
Modify/Create the Value Data Type(s) and Value Name(s) as detailed below.
Data Type: DWORD // Value Name: NoViewContextMenu
Setting for Value Data: [0 = Disabled / 1 = Enabled]
Exit Registry and Reboot
Administrator
 
Posts: 386
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 1:38 am

Postby fade » Fri Nov 30, 2007 12:39 pm

Administrator wrote:Thanks for you suggestion,
Can you explain more about what is "Hide bars from kiosk timer bar"


Hi!

First of all tank you for the tips.


If we put shortcuts to programs we want them to use in our system in the desktop we do not need All Programs from start kiosk menu.


If we don't put them there when timer ends those will not be closed. Right?

I'm using another software that does axactly the oposite. We choose the programs we do not want kiosk to close.
By defoult all programs must be closed when timer expires, eventualy we need some of them always working in tray items from task bar like nvidia drivers and so on... If we had the option close all but : a.exe; b.exe ;etc...
I think it would be better. I can explain why.

No one usualy opens a "*.PDF" from acrobatic reader, usualy we open file that needs acrobatic reader. So we don´t put it on "All Programs" bar. But if time ends whith a personal "*.PDF" open kiosk will not close AR, next client will see that file open.
If we put all programs in "All Programs" list, we have much more work to configure them.

Did I explained myself?


Thx for your time.
fade
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2007 3:26 pm
Location: PT

Postby Administrator » Fri Nov 30, 2007 3:42 pm

1. Yes, if we don't put them there when timer ends those will not be closed
2. Every Program will be different. If you want the the program not be closed, then you do not put it in "All Programs"
For the PDF you just explained, you can do these.
1 Disable the context menu
2 Create the PDF file short cut on the desktop
3 add acrobat.exe in the list of All program, because the when you double-click the short cut the first time, the acrobat.exe will run in background automatically.

The Weavefuture Internet Cafe Kiosk PC Game Times' configuration is in the windows registry.
You can export and backup it , then your can restore it as necessary or distribute it to other PC.
Administrator
 
Posts: 386
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 1:38 am


Return to Suggestions and Ideas for Future Release Version

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron