How to upgrade Kiosk software?

Questions about our products

How to upgrade Kiosk software?

Postby hstraf » Thu Jun 05, 2008 3:29 pm

Hello,

I am currently using Kiosk Software version 3.83. I have downloaded and tried to install the new version 3.9 software.

However, when I go through the installation I am prompted that I must close the "Weavefuture Coin Op Internet Kiosk Time" program before I can continue.

How do I do this? What is the correct process to upgrade the Kiosk software?

Thanks.
hstraf
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2007 12:16 am

Re: How to upgrade Kiosk software?

Postby Administrator » Thu Jun 05, 2008 4:13 pm

1. Please uninstall the old software version first.
2. reboot
3. download and install the new version.
4. do configuration, test.
5. reboot.
thanks
Administrator
 
Posts: 386
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 1:38 am

Re: How to upgrade Kiosk software?

Postby hstraf » Thu Jun 05, 2008 5:19 pm

If I uninstall current version, will I lose all of the configuration?

:shock:

Also, what is the proper way to uninstall the software in this case?
hstraf
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2007 12:16 am

Re: How to upgrade Kiosk software?

Postby Administrator » Fri Jun 06, 2008 4:15 pm

You may lost some configurations, but it is correct way to do the upgrade.
You can make some screen shot of your configurations and save them somewhere in case you forget your configuration. It may only take about 5-10 minutes to do the reconfiguration. :)

thanks
Administrator
 
Posts: 386
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 1:38 am

Re: How to upgrade Kiosk software?

Postby hstraf » Wed Jun 11, 2008 7:33 pm

It would be nice if you can save the configuration information in registry or .ini file or something so that it is not lost when doing an upgrade.

For example, when uninstalling you could ask user if we want to leave current configuration files or totally remove EVERYTHING. Then we can choose to leave .ini or registry configuration options, so that they are still there when the new version is installed, and we do not need to completely redo everything.

Thanks.
hstraf
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2007 12:16 am

Re: How to upgrade Kiosk software?

Postby hstraf » Wed Jun 11, 2008 7:37 pm

Or.. another idea is that you can add an "export current configuration options" button.

When this is pressed, the software will prompt to save all the configuration options to a .ini file or something. Then we can copy this file to a safe place (or another computer that we are setting up) and IMPORT it into the software.

:)
hstraf
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2007 12:16 am

Re: How to upgrade Kiosk software?

Postby Administrator » Fri Jun 13, 2008 1:49 pm

Great suggestion. we may add the export and import configuration in the future version.
Thanks
Administrator
 
Posts: 386
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 1:38 am

Re: How to upgrade Kiosk software?

Postby hstraf » Fri May 15, 2009 11:55 am

Hello,

Did you create the export/import feature yet? I am trying to upgrade now, and I don't see any ability to export current settings.

The inability to easily upgrade without losing many of our settings is a major disadvantage of using this software...

:(
hstraf
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2007 12:16 am

Re: How to upgrade Kiosk software?

Postby Administrator » Sun May 17, 2009 1:51 pm

Sorry, this feature have not implemented yet, we are working on a brand new version 4.0, so this feature is delayed and will be available in the version after version 4.0 .
Administrator
 
Posts: 386
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 1:38 am


Return to Do you need help?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron